Welcome to Insanity

Man oh man, did I ever pick the wrong time to start blogging – right in the middle of probably one of the busiest summers I’ve ever had. Not that that’s a bad thing. I’m just not used to all this running around while trying to keep my brain from becoming too scrambled from the multitude of activities and the summer heat.

However, I will get into all in later posts. This is my first blog and I’m not entirely sure how to go about this, but I guess I will start with an introduction.

 Hi, my name is…

 No, no, no… too new kind in middle school.

 Ok, well, my name is Kendra, but for the purposes of this blog – and how it’s going to sort of be attached to my book – I’m going by Kendrick on here, the name that I plan on publishing under.

 I suppose that in itself deserves an explanation. I’m 23 and have been an aspiring author ever since I started the massive endeavor of writing a full length novel at the age of 15. It’s been a long and harrowing road, but I can’t imagine myself doing anything else.

 I’m an extremely shy person, until you get to know me, in which case even then I can be pretty quiet. I’ve been creative for as long as I can remember. I’ve determined that that’s my compensation for being so introverted, I communicate through my writing and my art. Writing especially has always been an outlet for me, and though I’m quiet in person, I can ramble on for ages in writing, especially if set on the right subject. Often times, that’s my book or any of my other artistic ventures or interests. And my interests can definitely venture off the radar of normal, but hey, I tend to revel in the morbid and the strange. I certainly don’t follow the mainstream of what’s considered normal, and by no means do I ever plan on starting. It can be a lonely life on the edge at times, but it’s certainly interesting if you decide to make the best of it.

So, likely, this blog will consist of a lot of self reflection and the hardships that it takes, not only to write, but to get to the publishing stage and beyond. That in itself is a massive journey, but so is going through life trying to find ourselves. Hopefully this won’t always take a somber tone as a lot of my writing tends to, but we will see. I will try to keep an even level by adding some more upbeat things here and there.

I say this will likely revolve around my writing, but who knows. I’ve been told by many people – especially my other writing friends – that I should give blogging a try, so I figured why not? Maybe somebody out there will find me relatively amusing, and if not and I end up talking to myself, well, it’s kind of like Facebook, ain’t it?

 Either way, I figure that those who stumble upon my book any time in the future as well as those who are already waiting for its completion and release, might want to know more about the strange mind behind the writing.  I know I’m guilty of wanting to know more about my favorite authors.

 As well as writing, my other interests – and things you might see on this blog – include but are certainly not limited to music, art, fantasy and all manner of the medieval – Renaissance Festivals, swords, pirates, archery and who knows what else at this point in time. Any new artistic ventures as well as the trying of new things will likely be spoken of as well.

I will add links to my other websites – my DeviantArt account and my book’s Facebook page in the About Me tab once I get that up.

 So, to friends new and preexisting: Welcome to insanity.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Insanity

  1. Ceci says:

    Glad you’ve started blogging! Looking forward to reading all your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

