Pirate Cove, Fire Shows and archery show offs

As mentioned in the previous post, this is essentially part II of my Tall Ships experience from last weekend. Now, as this coming weekend dawns upon us, I figure I better get this typed out before I forget altogether.

Sunday was the day that we actually paid to get into the festival, and we basically ended up lingering in the same area the whole day, not that it was a bad time. The fact that I was so interested in the area that they deemed Pirate Cove is pretty much why I never left. They had an area set up to test your skills at knife throwing and archery. One thing you will likely learn from this blog is that I’ve recently gotten into archery and I love it, so of course I had to try my hand at that. Not only have I certainly improved from when I first picked up a bow, I think I actually ended up showing up the guy that was actually working there. The booth was quiet when I approached it, so it was just me shooting. He gave me ten arrows to shoot and since there was no one else, picked up two bows and jokingly asked which one of us would get the most bullseyes. I found it a little irritating that he looked at the long bow he was going to hand me and then seemed to think better of it for a moment, asking me if I could pull the weight of it, almost like he saw me as a weakling girl who didn’t know archery. Let’s just say that I probably made him think twice. I got plenty of arrows close to the bullseye, one actually in the center, and all of my ten hit the target somewhere. At least two of his arrows he shot off into the surrounding hay. So, what can I say, I was rather amused with myself. I’m actually really interested now to someday enter into the archery competition down at the Renaissance Festival. Apparently, I’m not half bad.

As for the rest of it, I met the author of Hook & Jill, Andrea Jones. The book is a spin off of Wendy’s story from Peter Pan, and though I’ve never actually read Peter Pan (can’t even say with certainty that I’ve seen the animated movie) I’m excited to start reading it. Not only that, but I talked with Andrea for awhile discussing selling books at festivals like the Tall Ships and the Ren Faire and got some good information on that as well as publishing. It’s always good to talk to authors and research, because one day – hopefully soon – I’m going to be in the same boat. A boat that’s going to be much harder to keep afloat since I plan on self-publishing.

And then there’s my favorite part of the day – the stage shows. All day long there were pirate themed stage shows, and my favorite one, by far, was the A Ring on Fire! fire show. This would be a good time to mention that one of my lead characters in my book – Fura Feuer – starts out in the beginning of the series working at her own local Renaissance Faire as a firedancer. I’ve always thought that that was rather straight forward, but, alas, there still seems to be a smidge of confusion from some people as to what that actually means. Now, I’ll admit, I get excited at these festivals when I catch wind of any stage show that consists of fire. Yet, I’ve been met with much disappointment when the shows get under way and I realize that it’s nothing close to what I’ve had in mind for Fura ever since this story sprung up in my head.  This time, however, I was met with excitement, because this was the first time that I’ve actually seen live exactly what it is that I associate with her. Just to give a visual, I will leave you with the link to the video I took and uploaded to my YouTube channel. Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ob_9KQZh8oE

Leave a Reply

