Changing Times in a Manner-less Society

Let me just start out by saying that this is a bit of a personal rant that has nothing to do with my writing and is not very festive, so, be warned. I don’t want to be a downer during the holiday season, but this is fresh in my mind and I feel I need to get it out.

I’m not going to go into any major detail, and leave this pretty general, but let me just say that I’m so sick and tired of obnoxious people who think that they’re entitled to everything. Pretty much this is in relation to a concert I went to last night. I’ve made quick mention of this before, but I really used to enjoy going to concerts and the whole thrill of it, but more and more it’s just become a day of waiting, anger, and frustration all ending in relative disappointment. I honestly don’t know if it’s me that’s changing, the world around me, or if I’m just more prone to noticing things as I get older… in general, it’s probably a culmination of all three.

First off, I want to say that I know that things never stay the same, everything changes, people change… but it’s still a sad realization at times to sit and reflect on just how much things have evolved around you, and not always for the better. I’m not going to bad mouth the band or any people in specific because that’s not what this is about. More so, it’s a general observation regarding the state of our society.

To put things in a bit of perspective, though I’m an incredibly shy, quiet person, there’s just something thrilling about going to a concert for one of your favorite bands and being right up front, lost in the music, so close that you can watch the members strumming every note on the guitar or watching the drummer. However, there’s also a ton of cons to being up in that melee and for me, those cons are now greatly outweighing the pros.

All I want to do is stand there and enjoy the music and take some photos and video… is that really so much to ask?

Apparently so.

~Random note: I want to point out that I’m 23, and definitely feel like an old soul. I’m artistic, quiet… more prone to staying at home enjoying a nice cup of tea while writing than going out and partying like many feel people my age should be doing.

In short, I don’t feel like I belong in my ‘generation’, and that was all the more apparent last night. For one thing, I felt like such a dinosaur because I had an actual camera and not a phone that I was using to take pictures. Looking around last night on that front left me feeling more nostalgic than anything… leading me to lie in bed later that night thinking that I should develop those last few rolls of physical film I still have laying in a drawer, just to see what they contain, and then wondering if any stores even still take rolls of film.

Regardless, that’s not what left me frustrated last night. No, what left me both angered and in a near panic attack (I have rather severe anxiety… but that’s another story altogether) was people’s manners… or lack of.

Is it just me, or does it seem like with each new generation that good old manners are being bred out and lost? I mean, I know people like to have ‘fun’ at shows, but since when did that fun include being a complete and utter asshole? Is it really that enjoyable to flail around so much that you’re hitting the people around you (and don’t even get me started on the amount of hands in my videos and pictures) and are you even enjoying the show in your crazy, drunken state? Do you really know what’s going on? Or are you more concerned with seeing how much you can drink and taking selfies (by the way, I absolutely hate that word…) with your equally drunk and obnoxious friends? I just don’t understand how that’s fun… to go out into public and make a complete and utter ass of yourself.

And then there are the ones that I don’t even know if they’re encouraged by alcohol or if that’s just their personality, sober or otherwise… and those are the ones that feel like they’re entitled to everything. These are the people who don’t even weasel their way up front, but push, shove and barrel their way into the middle of an already packed crowd where there is quite literally no space anyway and then get all defensive and angry and ready to punch people and throw harsh words when the people who were there previously (sometimes for hours) get annoyed and try to tell them to leave or regain the space they lost. Not only are these people annoying as all hell, but then they stand there and act all haughty like they know they won the game and deserve some kind of prize. They can’t just stand there and enjoy the spot they stole, they have to make sure that everyone knows they’re there, and that on top of that they’re the hottest shit in the room. (Spoiler… you’re not).  … and keep reminding them, continually honing in another two inches on your space. *sigh*

And then there’s the people that… heck, I don’t even know if it’s moshing… but like to bump into each other and everyone around them in some kind of drunk dance. Isn’t that what goats do… bump heads… in some kind of male dominance thing, in the wild?

Whatever happened to manners? Being civilized? I wasn’t aware it was such a hard thing for people.

It’s not even just concerts either. Pretty much no matter where you go, there’s bound to be a jerk or two. Overall, I’m just sick of people in general. I’ve always had a hard time finding people that understand me and that I get along with anyways, but now it’s just getting harder and harder to find people that I like and connect with. There’s all these people out there that can’t function without their phones and the internet. (I have a TracFone… and I’m perfectly happy with it. It makes calls and texts. That’s all I need and even then I hardly use it. And I don’t drive, but if need be, I can read a map. I don’t need gps.) I’m sorry people, but going out and socializing shouldn’t revolve around sitting around a table with your ‘friends’ with everyone staring at their phone, nor should it be about making your presence known to the whole world in a continual ritual of who’s better than the other.

When was the last time someone held a door open for you? Do you even know what your friends look like, the color of their eyes? Or do you spend all that time ‘together’ lost in the technology in your pocket planning the next thing you do?

Now, don’t get me wrong, technology is great and yes, things have changed for better over the years, but it’s a double edged sword… somewhere in all our advances we seem to have forgotten how to be civilized and well-mannered people. We’ve grown far too attached to material things rather than the memories that can be formed by just hanging out and talking with a good friend or a family member you having seen in ages. The world’s become a place full of people who measure their own worth and the worth of others on how much material wealth they can accumulate… of people who think they’re entitled to everything not because they worked hard to earn it, but merely because they’re alive and breathing… and holidays have become more and more centered around how much stuff you can buy and receive, rather than getting together with family you may not have seen in ages and simply enjoying each others presence. Yes, life has gotten better in many aspects, but in that time we’ve also grown apart as people and have turned into a manner-ess and uncultured society that is really no better than a pack of wild animals at times. It’s a sad state that we live in today…

I could go on and on about this, but I think I will leave it there… I’ve made a point and I don’t want to dwell on it too long, leaving it to poison my mind.

All I want to say is that there is a phrase that declares “Stop and smell the roses” and that should be even more pertinent in today’s age. Just stop once in awhile, maybe to think about how your actions effect those around you, or even just take a moment in life to pause and look around you, enjoy the fact that the sun is shining. You may be surprised at what you find lurking just outside your peripheral vision that’s always locked on the screen of your phone.

Find a quarter on the ground.

Listen to the chatter of birds.

Hold the door for a stranger.

Live life.

….

I left this on the ending of my last post, but I will repeat it again, because it applies just as much here as it did last time, and that’s:

“Don’t wait for tomorrow, because tomorrow is never guaranteed.”

And that’s just the truth of it.

If you were to die tomorrow, what kind of person would people remember you being. I don’t know about you, but I would like to think that people would remember me fondly or at least have kind thoughts, and I hope that holds true to any reading this.

Enjoy life, but don’t get so wrapped up in things that you forget how to live.

~~~~ Now, that all said, I’m going to go take a nice relaxing bath and return to writing as well as a digital painting that I’m working on. I have a few boxes of tea that have inspirational quotes on the tags, and the one I drank today was “Failure is success if we learn from it – Malcolm S. Forbes” So, back to my art I go, because although it may leave me frustrated at times, each misstep is just another stepping stone on the path to being better at it.

3 thoughts on “Changing Times in a Manner-less Society

  1. Shannon says:

    I’m sorry your concert experience sucked. I wish I had been there with you regardless.

  2. Don’t worry, Kendra. This is what comes from being an ‘old soul’. Your are just on a different level than most of those around you, especially in a concert/public situation. Maybe it’s part of being an only child where you’ve been around mostly adults for your entire life. I too ask myself, “what am I doing here? I don’t belong.” You will find you own path and I’m here for you to help you along.

  3. Ceci says:

    I definitely can sympathize with not wanting to be around people; working in retail I see and have to interact with obnoxious people constantly. However, every now and then there are the ones who restore my faith in humanity. Don’t let the bad apples get you down! 🙂

Leave a Reply

