Birthday and Book Excitement

Once again, I can’t believe that it’s been so long since I’ve posted anything on here. But I’ve always been under the mindset of not bothering to post if I don’t have anything to say. Still, I didn’t know that it’s been that long.

Regardless, I’m excited today.

Not only is it my birthday – which, I will confess… birthday’s and holidays are generally just another day to me – but I’ve also got some exciting news.

First off, for my birthday my parents decided to go half with me on the purchase of a new camera. I’ve been wanting a fancy DSLR camera for a long time, but lack of funds and feeling like it would hurt to spend that much on something has kept me from actually attaining one. However, when I was at the store last week they happened to have a Canon EOS Rebel T3i on clearance. It was still $419 (ok, typing that makes me realize just how much I just spent on a camera… ouch), but I’m so excited to finally have one.

Though I bought it last week, I’ve only just gotten it out of the box today and am currently waiting for the battery to charge before I start messing around with it.

Now, you may ask, what the heck has been keeping you from getting that puppy right out of the box the moment you brought it home. Trust me, it’s been difficult. Especially since it’s been sitting on my desk next to my computer… taunting me.

But I’ve been working hard on my book.

First, let me side-track just a second:

Having participated in NaNoWriMo the last two years, one of the best things is that if you actually achieve the 50,000 word goal, you get an array of goodies in the form of coupons as a reward. One of those coupons that I’ve been dying to use is a code for free printed copies of your book from CreateSpace.

Unfortunately, my coupon went unused the first year (very sad about that), and it only occurred to me the week before last that the one I had from last November was going to expire the end of this month. I was lying in bed, thinking that I was going to be mad for not using that again. And then it came to me… I’ve had the first draft done since December of 2011. Yes, it’s been awhile. I’m terribly self-deprecating and have yet to finish the revise/edit of the first novel. But the fact still remains that I still have a whole book sitting there.

So, though it’s not what I intend to publish as the final, I decided to go ahead and use that CreateSpace coupon and just print off my first draft. Almost like a prototype. Just to see how it looks in print, how long it is, etc. And, maybe the sheer act of actually seeing it in printed form in my hands will be just the kick in the arse that I’ve been needing to get back to that edit and to – hopefully – get the finalized novel out there this fall or winter.

I just ordered the copies this morning, and I can honestly say that I’m already stoked to see them! Just seeing the PDF file all put together was enough to leave me giddy.

It was a lot of work – much more than I had expected… with not only the quick edit, searching for grammar mistakes, but also formatting in Word to account for bleed area and margins and all that fun technical stuff. Not to mention the same thing with the cover design – which I did all myself.

My brain is practically numb from overworking myself with this – late nights and extremely long days going through 221,000 words (most novels hover around 90,000) and then working to finish the rest of it. That is definitely a job in itself, but, kind of fun. Though it would have been more enjoyable if I hadn’t of given myself such a short deadline. The fact that I’m done now, however, leaves me feeling incredibly accomplished. Now my hope is to have it in my hand by Forth of July weekend so that I can wave it around to my family.

I’ve said before, and I’ll say it again: You can only tell people so many times that you’re working on a project like a book before they stop believing you and just think you’re lazy. Now I will have proof that I have actually been working.

I will definitely post pictures when I receive the physical copies, but to tide everyone over, here’s the cover. (I don’t know if this will be the cover for the final book, but I still love it.)

Image

Also, I’ve added almost another 60,000 words to my second novel. So, I guess I’ve been doing something over spring.

On an end note: Happy Summer Solstice! And I hope I have more exciting things to post (more frequently) as this year goes on.

 

One thought on “Birthday and Book Excitement

  1. love2read365 says:

    Congrats on getting your book ready to publish on CreateSpace. I was hoping to get mine done in time too, but I don’t think I’m going to make it! The end of June is almost here and I still haven’t figured out quite how to finish my novel. If I end up printing it, the story will be very rough!

Leave a Reply

