A Brief Glance at the Rest of the Year

First off, where did this year go? I can’t believe it’s almost September already.

Aside from saving up money for Ren Fest again and working on some Halloween crafting to hopefully sell online, I’ve been slogging through writing. Not to say that writing is a burden. I love writing. I always will… even when it doesn’t always love me back. No, what is a burden is whatever health problems I’ve got going on that practically prevent me from writing. It’s difficult to sit down and concentrate on writing and story threads and characters when you’re on the verge of falling over from exhaustion and wanting to take a nap at all hours of the day. It’s incredibly frustrating.

Either way, I know it’s been awhile again, so, a quick update on the writing front.

I’m still working on writing, though not as much as I’ve been wanting to. I’ve also been trying to figure out if I’m going to have the time to do NaNoWriMo again this year. Part of me says to skip a year, but after having so much success the past two years, it almost feels wrong to not at least try. So, if I can keep myself on track, here’s what the rest of the year should look like schedule-wise:

~*~*~*~*~

~ Remainder of August: Finish up my current section of writing on the second book – 8 more chapters. (it won’t be finishing up the first draft of the second novel, but it will leave me at a major point in the storyline that should be easy for me to pick back up on when the time comes.)

~ September – October: Finish up the rewrite/revise of the first novel.

~ November: NaNoWriMo (This will be the start of the 5th book – currently and crappily titled “The River Under”)

~ December: Final grammatical edit of the first novel (Sparks & Shadows) and final printing.

~*~*~*~*~

An update to my update: Seeing as there’s two days of August left and I’ve really only managed to finish up another half a chapter of the eight I have left, I may – unhappily – just leave the second book behind for now. To be honest, it’s been almost a year since I returned to my first book edit/revise, so it might do me some good to put the second book aside for a little while. If anything, I can bounce back and forth between editing and rewriting for the first book and writing a chapter here and there for the second throughout the next two months.

Also in that time, I’ve got to at list try to figure out a general timeline for the fifth book if I’m to do NaNoWriMo. To be honest, for some reason, the fifth book is the one I know the least about. I don’t know why, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It just gives me all the freedom in the world to play with the events of that particular novel in the series. Who knows what will come of it.

For now, if I can finish my current chapter I would be ecstatic.

Until next time,

Yours,

The sleepy author

Leave a Reply

