Back From the Dead

Okay, so not actually back from the dead.

I just know that I’ve been inactive long enough that people probably at least think I fell off the face of the earth.

If anything, it got your attention, right?

That being said, I have returned to the online community, and will hopefully not disappear again.

This may be a short entry for me, but I just want to let my followers know that I am still around and I am still working on my book. In fact, I’m finally kicking it up a notch and have been working on it pretty much nonstop these last few weeks. The goal – though there is still quite a bit of work to do – is to have this final edit completed by the end of this month, and, in turn, have the final copies in print starting early next month.

In other words: You will finally be able to purchase the first book of the Nyte-Fyre Prophecy series – “Sparks & Shadows” – and read the final product very soon.

My biggest goal is to have the book ready to roll so that I can get into the Michigan Renaissance Festival to sell. And then, the Christmas season is not too far after that.

I’ve had the beginnings of a marketing plan sketched out for ages, and have recently added a few things to that as of late. However, that is another blog post altogether. Probably once I’m actually done with this edit. I can focus more on that once I get the final file sent off to the printers, since that will leave me about a week to a week and a half waiting for books in the mail.

Hopefully, from here on out, I will be more active on both this blog and the corresponding Facebook page. However, the main reason I’ve been so silent on both is that I never feel as if I have much to discuss regarding my writing. At least nothing of major consequence.

I will admit that having this auto-immune disorder (Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis) has thrown me for a loop. I won’t go into much detail regarding that because I don’t care to recognize it, but though there are numerous side effects from it, what has been causing me the most trouble is the extreme fatigue and brain fog – neither of which are productive for a writer and artist. So I’ve had quite the go-around trying to squeeze in editing and writing on the days that I do feel particularly awake. Thankfully I’ve found a different medication, that although doesn’t make me feel exceptionally human as I would like, does at least give me more days where I am alert and not struggling with fatigue. As a writer, I couldn’t ask for much more than that. I terribly miss the writer I was when I first began this series so many years ago – the one that wrote for hours a day, sometimes till two in the morning. I remember a time – two years ago for NaNoWriMo – where I was actually up until 4:30 in the morning finishing a chapter. I want to be that writer again – writing because I want to, rather than getting caught up and frustrated with the technicalities of editing.

That being said, though I’ve had to push myself to return to this edit (as I’ve felt far more inclined to explore the darker latter half of the series, as opposed to working on the first book), I have found that I’m enjoying the process again. It is amazing to go back and see just how much work I have completed, and even how my writing has changed over the years.

Regarding the editing/rewriting process, I have probably one more chapter that I want to completely rewrite – filling in a chapter that got cut – and most of the rest of it is more grammatical editing, and simply rearranging sentences to make them read better and mesh with my current writing style.

As I mentioned, I’ve still got quite a bit of work ahead of me, but I do see the end of this particular chapter. I can very easily complete this. And this is just the first book. There are plenty more to keep me busy after that. At least six more (possibly seven), a potential book of a series of short stories involving the characters that take place either before or after the actual series, a compendium of information – character histories, histories of the land, and all the other facts that I wanted to either explore, or just didn’t have a place for within the story, and an after series novella. At least I say novella for now, though I won’t know until the time actually comes just how long it will be. It might end up being a full novel in itself.

All I know is there is plenty of writing ahead of me in the years to come, and I’m looking forward to every moment of it. Yet, it all really starts with this first book.

So, welcome again to all my followers, previous and forthcoming.

Keep your eyes peeled, for exciting things are finally around the corner for this series.

I will return soon

~ Kendrick

2 thoughts on “Back From the Dead

  1. Shannon says:

    Yay!!!!!!!!!! Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

