The Other Side

As promised, here’s my blog post from the other side of all that work.

I meant to do one much sooner, but I completely burned myself out doing so much in such a short period of time. I started working with the final formatting and grammatical revision on August 15th, and finished – with only a few days reprieve in between to keep from a nervous breakdown – on September 8th. Keep in mind, that this, in total, is a 697 page book with 80 chapters. It was in no sense a small feat, and I’m incredibly proud of myself. That is an immense amount of work in the span of 24 days… probably closer to 20 actual days spent working on the book. And that work encapsulates not only the grammatical edit, but also some additional rewriting – two of my short Zariah chapters were written in their entirety in those last few days. Also, a lot of copying and pasting into one document, and then the formatting. Ugh, the formatting. I really do like the formatting at times – once you know what you’re doing. But it took me one long and incredibly frustrating day trying to figure out specific formatting – page breaks, and headers, and footers, and all that ‘fun’ stuff. However, I got it figured out. I made the chapter titles pretty. I created over half the chapter titles. And I tweaked the cover artwork just a bit. All in all, I ended up with a novel that was 137 pages longer than the first draft printing.

However, I was 15 when I first started writing Nyte-Fyre. The beginning, though acceptable, was on the juvenile side and lacking a whole lot of detail. So, that’s where a lot of the extra writing comes in. The storyline itself has remained the same for the most part, but the first 200 or so pages have been entirely rewritten, and the rest reworked to read more smoothly. I believe now that it’s closer to the story that it was meant to be in the first place, and I’m proud to finally be able to introduce it to the world.

With that being said, I ordered a first run of 25 copies on the 8th of September and received that first shipment yesterday. I had only ever ordered 4 copies at the most of the first draft printing for a few close friends, so that was a rush to open a large (and very heavy) box to find 25 shiny new copies of a newly printed book looking back at me.

And here is me with those first 25:

IMG_7174-2

Yes, I might have dressed for the occasion, and to match the book cover – though, to be honest, me wandering the house in a ball gown is really not that out of the ordinary.

Now, on to the information that a large number of people are waiting on:

“How can I get a copy?”

First off, I just want to let everyone know that although this might be slow to start, and include a bit of trial and error here, everyone who wants a copy will get one. Be patient, and keep an eye on the Facebook page and on this blog here for updates.

The shipment I got yesterday is only 25 books. I wanted to do a small run first to make sure – with all my changes – that everything looked good before printing larger runs.

I have a list of people who have been wanting one for awhile who have priority, as well as a few people that I have a limited time window to get them to. This first set will probably go quick. But, if you don’t get one, don’t worry. More will be on the way very soon.

For right now, the only way you can get a copy is through me. I have a little bit of tax information to fill out and some investigation into other channels.

However, very soon I will make the book available on both Amazon.com and as a digital download for Kindle.

As each channel becomes available I will post the links on these pages. It shouldn’t be too long.

That being said, even once those options are open, if you want a signed copy, you will have to buy through me. I will keep the Facebook page updated as to when I have physical copies available, and will most likely use Paypal for the payment method.

Books bought through me will be $20, with probably $4.50 shipping. If you want it signed, just let me know. 🙂


Right now, this is the tentative schedule for the next week:

Today: Tweaking a few very minor things on the cover artwork, and a minor thing or two on the interior. Because of those changes, I’ll have to send it back through CreateSpace for review again. It should be back by tomorrow afternoon.

Friday: I have to get to the bank to transfer money that will go to the second large print run.

Weekend: This is the weekend I’m going to the Renaissance Festival. So, I’m taking the weekend off and enjoying myself. I could really use it. Not to mention, that in between all the book work this week – I’m also trying to figure out a last minute costume, which means crafting and making things.

Monday: I will place my second order. Probably another 50 copies. I will probably also try to do my tax information on the CreateSpace site that night so I can get it on Amazon.


Right now, and probably for awhile here, all of my profits from books sold will go right back into ordering more copies.

With that being said, I’ll pose a potential option. Depending on if I get any feedback from this, I’ll let you all know if I go through with this:

For those that definitely want a copy and don’t mind waiting a few weeks (it took me two weeks to get this last shipment from the date I ordered), who would be interested in pre-ordering? Those that pre-ordered and pre-paid would be placed on a list and will be the first to get their copies in the mail when they arrive at my door. If anybody is interested in that, I would be able to order more during this next shipment. However, I would only be able to leave that window of pre-ordering open for a few days.

—————

Overall, I definitely have a lot to work on in the next few days, and probably throughout the rest of the year. My goal is to get everything up and running smoothly for the holiday season.

I want to get the book available on Amazon, Kindle, and maybe even Barnes & Noble.com. I also plan to have it available to buy at my local Barnes & Noble stores in both Midland and Saginaw, MI. I also have the idea to do a small giveaway of maybe five copies on GoodReads.com.

I definitely have a marketing plan – have for awhile, actually. Now is the time to finally put it into action.

I have a feeling that this post is getting long, so, thank you for reading, and I’m off to continue work.

Once again: Just be patient. Everyone who is interested in buying a copy will get one 🙂

And I just want to thank everyone again – those that have followed me for some time now, and new followers – for all the support thus far. I always knew there were people through the years that wanted a copy of my book, but the comments, likes, and messages I’ve received in the last day alone on Facebook has come as a great, but welcome surprise to me. I value each and every one of you. I have a feeling that big things are going to come from this, and that both excites me and terrifies me, but it’s a great feeling to finally have my dreams come to life!

~ Kendrick

Leave a Reply

