A Whirlwind Summer

     Once again, I’ve been terrible about upkeep on this blog. Maybe I just still suffer from the idea that I never have anything of real interest to say. But, that’s been far from the truth lately. Once an introvert, always an introvert I suppose.

     Anyway, I know it’s been awhile since I’ve posted any real update. This will be a short post for now, but I will say that just as the title claims, I’ve been busy doing this, that, and the other this summer. And, really, that started in the middle of spring.

     I’ve got to admit, I’m not used to this much activity. I don’t know the last time that I’ve just relaxed, really. I’ve gotten to the point now that when I have a day to do absolutely nothing that I almost feel lost.

     Hopefully I will soon get back into updating this blog more often, but, for now, here’s a short recap of what I’ve been up to lately. And, if I can get my act together, I plan to do individual blog posts going into more detail with each of these things.

 


 

What has Kendrick von Schiller been up to?

     Well, so far this spring/summer I’ve had two book signings (and I just got word that I have another in October!). The first was at Barnes & Noble as a part of a multi-author event. My upcoming signing will be similar, though at a different Barnes & Noble. The second signing was at a unique little shop up in Tawas, MI and was actually a part of a larger event. Not to mention, quite impromptu.

     I finally got to see Disturbed in concert in May. What an incredible show! Though I will admit, after all the smaller shows I’ve been to throughout the years, it’s strange to attend an arena show now.

     In the middle of June I attended my first Renaisssance Festival as a vendor. And what was I selling? My book, of course! It was a much smaller festival than the one I usually go to in the fall, but it was great fun, and I didn’t do too bad at all with sales. It was a great experience. One that I intend to pursue again next year.

     The week after that I attended the same festival, this time just to visit, and ended up spending a good hour or so in a forge! Forge work and blacksmithing is something that I’ve always been interested in, so it was a unique and thrilling opportunity to try my hand at it and actually make something. Especially since I was dressed as an elf at the time. That’s not something you see every day.

     Throughout that week and into the week following the Fourth of July I stepped back from my own writing, and took the time to help out a fellow author. One of my friends from the big Renaissance Festival was having problems formatting his second novel and I offered to help. Formatting it definitely not everyone’s cup of tea, and I’ll admit that I wanted to pull out my hair when I formatted my own novel last fall. But, throughout that process of working on Sparks and Shadows, I learned a lot, and I figured that going through the process again would keep it fresh in my mind for when I have to format my second novel. I only found a little bit of frustration during the project, but I have to admit, even though I knew what I was doing, I still learned some new things! And got the gratification of being able to help out a fellow artist and author. We’ve got to stick together.

     And, one of my favorite things of all: I got to see something that I never thought I would get the chance to see in person unless I went to Norway. And that’s the largest recreation of a Viking ship, the Draken Harold Hårfagre. I don’t even remember how I initially ran across it in the first place, but I have been following their page since 2012 when it was still being built. So to see it in person was a dream come true. And let me tell you, it is incredibly impressive in person! Definitely everything I had hoped for and more. (I’ll definitely have a dedicated post to this in the upcoming weeks. After I go through all the pictures I took.) I was sad to see it go, and though it only just left here Wednesday morning, I miss it already.

     In the midst of all that, I’ve been slowly picking away at the chain mail shirt I’m making for the Renaissance Festival. At this point, I honestly don’t know that I’ll have it done in time, but that won’t keep me from continuing to work on it.

 

**~***~**

 

     So, that’s been most of the highlights of my busy summer thus far, and it’s not yet over. Who knows what I can get into next. Though I know for a fact that one of the things I need to return to is writing and getting the second novel of the Nyte-Fyre Prophecy series finished. So, here’s to that.

     If anything, the United States is in the midst of a streak of wickedly hot weather, so what better time than now to hole up in the house in front of the air conditioning and write?

     I will hopefully return here soon. In the meantime, what’s been the highlight of your summer so far?

~ Kendrick

Leave a Reply

