Ebook Update

Hey everyone,

Yes, long time no see again. Have I mentioned before that I’m terrible at blogging? Yes? Well, I’ll say it again, anyways. I am horrible at keeping this updated. Maybe because I’m still under the illusion that so few people care what I have to say.

Self-deprecating artist feelings aside, I have good news!

Though my first fantasy novel, “Sparks and Shadows” has been out for just over a year now, I have recently made a few changes to it. I’ll admit that in my rush to release it last year, I missed a few grammatical edits when I did my last read through of it. Every time I opened my editorial copy I’ve kept on my desk for myself, it seemed like I found yet another grammar error. So, I’ve actually been meaning to do another run through edit for awhile.

However, the reason that I finally went through all the work (reading through just shy of 700 pages is no small task – especially when you’ve read it so many times before) is that when I first published last year I had no idea how to format an ebook file, so my Kindle edition for the past year has been a print replica. I admit that I don’t necessarily care for ebooks myself, and the only Kindle I have is the free desktop app from Amazon, but I do know that a print replica over an actual ebook is harder to read. The text can be blurry, and you’re not able to adjust the size of the words for reading ease.

This past October I helped a fellow author friend format his second print novel at the last minute. It was a great feeling, knowing that I could put the skills I’d gathered while publishing my first book to use. Not to mention, it kept everything fresh in my head, because pretty soon I’m going to have to go through the process again for my second novel. And though I didn’t expect it, I got a very lovely mention in the acknowledgements of that book. (That really made my day) So, when he contacted me again a few weeks later, wondering if I could put together the ebook file of that book, I couldn’t say no. It didn’t matter to me that I still hadn’t learned how to format ebooks. I scoured the internet, and with only a little frustration – what would Word be without some frustration? – I found out how to create ebook files from scratch.

A skill that I’ve put to use in the last few months as I’ve returned to my own novel. I actually started this little side project in October, hoping to get it done before NaNoWriMo, but that didn’t happen.

Today, however, the Kindle edition of “Sparks and Shadows” on Amazon is now a reflowable format file, all set to read on your e-reader. And, on top of that, as a bit of a promotion, the e-book will be 0.99 cents through the end of the year. So, follow the link below and get yourself a copy, or pass this on to a friend. And if you do read it, make sure to leave a review on Amazon and/or Goodreads.

Also, the print file itself has been updated to reflect the grammatical changes made. I still have a number of the old copies, so any print copies bought through me for a bit will still be first edition (who knows, maybe they’ll be worth something someday). Any bought through Amazon or Barnes and Noble from this day forth will be second edition.

 

_ Kendrick von Schiller

Ebook link:

http://amzn.to/2hEKcmV

51FPtjddSXL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Leave a Reply

